Ways to Obtain a Pensacola Accident Report
After an accident, an officer who responded to the scene will fill out an accident report that details what happened.
Even though there is a lot to deal with in the aftermath of a crash, obtaining a copy of your accident report is critical not only to confirm that it is accurate but also so you have a record you can use if you need to take legal action.
This is because accident reports are widely used by insurance companies and lawyers when determining how much you can recover as a part of your claim.
How to Get a Copy of Your Pensacola Accident Report
When it comes to getting a copy of accident reports in Pensacola, FL, you have two options: you can pick it up in person, receive a copy online, or by mail.
If you’ve been injured in an accident, an attorney can review your accident report with you.
Get Your Pensacola Accident Report In Person
Accident reports in Pensacola, Florida can be obtained in person by visiting the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV). The Department maintains the official repository for all of Florida’s crash records.
The FLHSMV is located at the following address:
Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 28
Tallahassee, FL 32399
Under Florida law, crash reports will only be released to parties directly involved in the accident for the first 60 days following the date of the crash. If you wish to obtain your Pensacola accident report in this 60-day period, you will need to complete a Sworn Statement for Traffic Crash Report Information to certify that you were a party involved. Each report will cost $10.00, plus a $2.00 convenience fee.
You can also obtain a copy of your report in person from the Pensacola Police Department, located at
711 N Hayne St.
Pensacola, FL 32501
The Pensacola Police Department charges $0.15 per page of the report, and requires a driver’s license or state ID card before they will give you your copy.
Message us today with your legal concerns regarding your accident report.
Get Your Pensacola Accident Report Online
Copies of accident reports can be obtained online through the FLHSMV crash portal.
To request a report online, you will need the following information:
- The date of the accident
- The driver’s last name
- The crash report number
- The name of the agency investigating the crash
Online crash reports also cost $10.00 plus the $2.00 convenience fee.
Once you enter the required information in the portal, you will receive an email with a link allowing you to immediately download your report. Keep in mind the link will only be available for 48 hours.
When you receive your accident report, contact our team of attorneys to help you with receiving compensation from any legal claims.
How to Get Your Pensacola Accident Report by Mail
The FLHSMV also offers accident reports by mail. To request accident reports in Pensacola, FL by mail, you must include (i) a signed sworn statement, (ii) a request letter that details the crash report you are requesting, and payment to the same address as above.
A check or money order should be made out to “FLHSMV.” The Department notes that it will take 4-6 weeks to receive your report if requested by mail.
Injured in an Accident? Contact Us Today
If you were injured in a motor vehicle collision you may be entitled to compensation. For a free motor vehicle injury consultation, please call (850) 444-HURT (4878).
You are also able to complete the requested information on our contact form, and our motor vehicle injury lawyers in Pensacola, will be in contact with you shortly. Learn more now by visiting our frequently asked questions.