In Florida, drivers with automobile insurance have personal injury protection (PIP) insurance.
PIP is designed to act as an extension of your auto insurance policy, and it covers some of your medical expenses incurred after an auto accident. PIP is applicable regardless of who causes the accident.
If you are a driver in the Sunshine State it is important to know that the minimum PIP coverage required under Florida law is $10,000 coverage.
Our experienced Florida auto accident lawyers will explain what you should know.
Personal Injury Protection Insurance Requirements
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles has several requirements for PIP insurance on vehicles registered in Florida:
- Drivers must be insured with PIP coverage in Florida and property damage liability (PDL) at the time of vehicle registration.
- Drivers must have a minimum of $10,000 in PIP and a minimum of $10,000 in PDL.
- Vehicles registered as taxis must carry $50,0000 in PDL coverage. They must also carry bodily injury liability (BIL) coverage of $125,000 per person and $250,000 per occurrence.
- Continuous coverage must be maintained until license plates are surrendered even if the vehicle is not being driven or is inoperable.
What Does PIP Cover in Florida?
Florida personal injury protection covers 80 percent of all necessary and reasonable medical expenses up to $10,000 resulting from a covered injury regardless of the cause, including:
- Professional medical care,
- Some non-emergency medical care,
- Ambulatory services,
- Medical diagnostics,
- 60 percent of lost wages due to injury,
- Death benefits, and
- Other related expenses.
Knowing the minimum PIP coverage in Florida is important because some damages may exceed your coverage. Florida PIP covers only $2,500 worth of benefits for non-emergency medical costs associated with your accident.
What Are My Options for PIP Coverage in Florida?
You are free to use any Florida insurance carrier. The minimum and maximum amount for PIP coverage in Florida is $10,000. You may opt to reduce your premium by selecting a higher deductible. The maximum Florida PIP deductible is $1,000.
Lost wages may be excluded from your policy as well as coverage for members of your household. It is always a good idea to compare quotes before choosing an insurance provider.
Disputes Over PIP Coverage in Florida
You need to file your PIP claim within two weeks of the accident. The insurance company has 60 days to respond. Depending on the severity of your injuries, PIP may not be enough to cover your expenses or the insurance company may offer you less than what you need. In this case, consider seeking experienced legal counsel.
The skilled and experienced advocates at Emmanuel Sheppard & Condon can help accident victims get the compensation they need. Our team understands the complexities of insurance claim negotiations and can provide additional options to achieve the compensation you need to recover.